10% extra free when you spend over £50 on gift cards with code XMAS10Buy Now
Since the first brick was laid in the 15th Century, Hoar Cross Hall has truly been transformed, however, its use has gone full circle.
No exact year is given for when the building’s foundations were set under the direction of the wealthy Welles family of Little Heywood but we believe it was around the 15th Century. The house was built on a hill and in those early days, had a moat and drawbridge.
There was a two-storey building in the grounds, with sash windows, a flat roof, rail and balustrades, thought to be a summer house. According to evidence available, this charming little building was also used as a music room and began to be looked after better than the main buildings, which despite being adorned with a grand Welles family coat of arms, began to show signs of decay.
By the early 1700s, Mary Ann Howard – the occupant of Hoar Cross Hall was a widow. According to author Gareth Evans, people from all levels of society visited the house. Guests coming to stay, servants and tradesmen reporting to work. Onlookers also turned up, just to set eyes on such a grand building.
Unfortunately, much of the manor house was demolished in 1740, but it’s said that traces of the building were still visible until around 150 years later, by which time the gardens were occasionally opened to raise money for worthwhile causes.
In 1740’s, Hugo Meynell Ingram commissioned the rebuild of the hall as a second family home. it was completed in 1871 and has a distinctive Elizabethan style with Jacobean overtones. Lofty gables, turreted water towers, 48 chimneys and mullioned windows are all excellent examples of the period and exude a level of grandeur that you can’t help but get swept up in.
In 1989 Mr Stephen Joynes bought the house and brought it back to life, refurbishing hall to its former glory.
Our head gardener can still remember the task they undertook to reveal the house. Working as a young apprentice, Dave helped clear the covered driveway and reinstate the beautiful lawns to what you now see today.
Some of the additional features installed by the Meynells can still be seen to this day. The grand staircase at the end of the Long Gallery, the servant’s bells on the 3rd floor and the William Morris Wallpaper in the Ballroom are to name just a few.
2005 saw the completion of a dedicated day spa. Built in the Hoar Cross Hall grounds, the day spa offered people, whose time was at a premium, the opportunity to visit the hall for a shorter period of time but to feel equally pampered and relaxed as those staying for a longer overnight break.
Over the past 18 months, the hall has once again been transformed to a more contemporary look. The original features have been complemented with opulent but modern furniture to create a relaxing atmosphere.
New features have been introduced to the Spa Hotel including the Nordic Heat & Ice Suite, the Joynes Suite and the Matthew Curtis Hair Retreat, all of which add to the Hoar Cross Hall experience and offer guests a unique escape; to sleep, to spa, to dine, to meet, or to be married.